top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAuthor Tanya Deloatch

Writing Short Poems

Updated: Sep 17, 2018

For some poets, writing comes in spurts and others can sit down to write daily. Me personally, I enjoy writing whenever a thought or catchy phrase comes to mind. Recently, I have been creating short poems based on pictures.


If you are experiencing writer's block or need a break from writing a story line, writing poetry with the use of art or photographs is a refreshing, yet inspiring way to be creative and visually invoke a descriptive poem.


A great resource for such pictures is Realistic Poetry International, realisticpoetry.com The photograph below offered such a vivid display that the words nearly jumped from my pen to paper. Here are my thoughts, according to what I viewed in the pictures:



In the deep, yet calming water

where the sky meets the sea

I take a moment to pray

appreciating all of God's blessings

bestowed upon me

His light beams down brightly,

as a gentle reminder

that everything I am

is because of what

He has provided me

Copyright 2017 Tanya Deloatch

Photo Credits - Realistic Poetry International

The beauty and elegance

of a regal swan,

traveling in solitude

appears to float along

on a peaceful and relaxing evening...

Hidden from the eye is the

powerful inner strength ever present,

yet necessary to glide on

into the flawless sunset

Copyright 2017 Tanya Deloatch

Photo Credits - Realistic Poetry International



18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page